When President Rodrigo Duterte finally signed the Universal Access to Quality Tertiary Education Act, Filipinos are excited for the much awaited bill to implement around the country. Under this bill will cover a total of 112 Colleges and State Universities, local universities and colleges, and technical vocational schools.

The free tuition law was ratified by the Congress last May then transmitted to the Office of the President. The newest law will also provide free charges on computer, admission, library, school id, entrance, laboratory, guidance and other miscellaneous fees however; students who are capable of paying their tuition can choose whether they like to avail the subsidies or not through the mechanism created by SUC’s.

List of Universities Free Tuition in 2018
The following are the list of universities and colleges under the law:

National Capital Region
1.University of the Philippines System
2.Polytechnic University of the Philippines
3.Eulogio Rodriguez Institute of Science and Technology
4.Philippine Normal University
5.Technological University of the Philippines
6.Marikina Polytechnic College
7.Rizal Technological University
8.Philippine State College of Aeronautics

Cordillera Administrative Region
1. Kalinga State University
2. Benguet State University
3. Ifugao State University
4. Mountain Province State University
5. Abra State Institute of Science and Technology
6. Apayao State College

Region I – Ilocos Region
1.Mariano Marcos State University
2.Ilocos Sur Polytechnic State College
3.University of Northern Philippines
4.Don Mariano Marcos Memorial State University
5.North Luzon Philippines State College
6.Pangasinan State University

Region II – Cagayan Valley
1. Isabela State University
2. Batanes State College
3. Nueva Vizcaya State University
4. Quirino State University
5. Cagayan State University

Region III – Central Luzon
Bulacan State University
Bulacan Agricultural State College
Central Luzon State University
Bataan Peninsula State University
Aurora State College of Technology
Pampanga State Agricultural University
Nueva Ecija University of Science and Technology
Don Honorio Ventura Technological State University
Ramon Magsaysay Technological University
Pampanga State Agricultural University
Tarlac State University
Tarlac College of Agriculture

Cavite State University
Southern Luzon State University
University of Rizal System
Batangas State University
Laguna State Polytechnic University

Region IV – B – MIMAROPA
Palawan State University
Western Philippines University
Romblon State University
Occidental Mindoro State College
Marinduque State College
Mindoro State College of Agriculture and Technology

Region V – Bicol Region
Sorsogon State College
Central Bicol State University of   Agriculture
Catanduanes State University
Dr. Emilio B. Espinosa Sr. Memorial State College of Agriculture and Technology
Partido State University
Bicol University
Camarines Norte State College
Bicol State College of Applied Sciences and Technology
Camarines Sur Polytechnic Colleges

Region VI - Western Visayas
Carlos C. Hilado Memorial State College
Northern Iloilo Polytechnic State College
Aklan State University
University of Antique
Capiz State University
Guimaras State College
Iloilo State College of Fisheries
West Visayas State University
Central Philippines State University
Northern Negros State College of Science and Technology
Iloilo Science and Technology University

Read: President Duterte Signs the Bill Granting Free Tuition

Region VII - Central Visayas
Cebu Technological University
Negros Oriental State University
Bohol Island State University
Siquijor State College
Cebu Normal University

Region VIII - Eastern Visayas
Northwest Samar State University
Eastern Samar State University
Samar State University
Eastern Visayas State University
Southern Leyte State University
Leyte Normal University
Visayas State University
University of Eastern Philippines
Naval State University
Palompom Polytechnic State University

Region IX - Zamboanga Peninsula
Zamboanga State College of Marine Sciences and Technology
Jose Rizal Memorial State University
Western Mindanao State University
J.H Cerilles State College
Zamboanga City State Polytechnic College

Region X - Northern Mindanao
University of Science and Technology of Southern Philippines - Cagayan De Oro Campus
Bukidnon State University
Central Mindanao University
Northwestern Mindanao State College of Science and Technology
MSU - Iligan Institute of Technology
University of Science and Technology of Southern Philippines - Claveria Campus
Camiguin Polytechnic State College

Region XI - Davao Region
Davao Oriental State College of Science and Technology
Compostela Valley State College
Davao Del Norte State College
University of Southern Philippines
Southern Philippines Agri-Business and Marine and Aquatic School of Technology

Sultan Kudarat State University
Cotabato State University
University of Southern Mindanao
Cotabato Foundation College of Science and Technology

Autonomous Region in Muslim Mindanao
MSU-Tawi-Tawi College of Technology and Oceanography
Adiong Memorial Polytechnic State College
Tawi-Tawi Regional Agricultural College
Mindanao State University
Basilan State College
Sulu State College

Region XIII - Caraga Administrative Region
Surigao del Sur State University
Caraga State University (Northern Mindanao State Institute of Science and Technology)
Agusan del Sur State College of Agriculture and Technology
Surigao State College of Technology

Lacson making sure that deserving students will benefit

During his interview with the media, Senator Panfilo Lacson stressed that only poor and deserving students should benefit from this new law. He added that it will not be fair if the government will pay for the students who are cutting classes than those who really want to study.

Lacson then pointed out Commission on Higher Education to screen their beneficiaries accordingly otherwise their efforts will put to waste. He also wants the Congress to have an oversight body if the law is properly implemented.

Newer Post
Older Post

No comments:

Post a Comment