Luzon braces itself with the gust of Typhoon Luis as 11 areas were put under signal no.3 by PAGASA Sunday morning, September 14. The typhoon is said to have intensified as it heads towards northern Luzon.

According to PAGASA, the states weather agency, Typhoon Luis, harboring maximum sustained winds of 130 kph, is 550 km in diameter. It has also the gustiness of 160 kph. As estimated, Luis may also give a rainfall of around 8-20 mm per hour, which could be considered as heavy to intense. Typhoon Luis, also internationally named Kalmaegi, is said to have the same strength of Pedring which also went through the northern Luzon in September 2011.

Expected to move west-northwest at 20 kph, Luis will have its landfall over Cagayan-Isabela area either late Sunday afternoon or evening. PAGASA also believed that by Monday it will be at 74 km west of Laoag City. By Tuesday, it will be outside of the Philippine Area of Responsibility gaining a distance of 607 km west-northwest of Laoag City.

Typhoon Luis Updates: Strom Signal and Affected Locations

Cagayan including Babuyan and Calayan Islands, Apayao, Ilocos Norte, Abra, Kalinga, Isabela, Mountain Province, Ilocos Sur, Ifugao, Northern Aurora, Quirino are now the area under the Storm Signal No.1.

Meanwhile under Storm Signal 2 are Batanes, La Union, Benguet, Nueva Vizcaya, Pangasinan, Nueva Ecija, and the rest of Aurora. Considered as Storm Signal 3 areas are, Tarlac, Zambales, Pampanga, Bulacan, Northern Quezon, and Polillo Island.

PAGASA also reminded the fishermen to avoid sailing during the typhoon. Residents in low-lying and mountainous areas experiencing the rainfalls were reminded to be alert and ready in cases of landslides and flash floods. Storm surge signals were also put up on coastal areas included in signals 3 and 2. 

While Luis makes landfall in northern Luzon, other parts of Luzon and Visayas will also experience rainfall due to Southwest Monsoon that was said to have intensified with the storm. References: Gmanetwork, Abs-cbnnews

Newer Post
Older Post

No comments:

Post a Comment